Australia: Winners of 2013 Australian Insurance Industry Awards unveiled

The Australian Insurance Industry Awards recognised and honoured the industry’s best companies and individuals for the past year in front of more than 750 insurance industry leaders at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre last night.

The winners of the 2013 Australian Insurance Industry Awards are:

Large General Insurance Company of the Year – Allianz
Small/Medium General Insurance Company of the Year – National Transport Insurance
Broker of the Year (Small) – IBL Limited
Broker of the Year (Medium) – Roderick Insurance Brokers
Broker of the Year (Large) – Aon
Law Firm/Practitioner of the Year-HWL Ebsworth Lawyers
Life Insurance Company of the Year- AIA
Claims Service Provider of the Year- National Transport Insurance
Underwriting Agency of the Year- Brooklyn Underwriting
Service Provider to the Insurance Industry- Recoveries Corporation Group Limited
Innovation of the Year- BT Financial Group
Reinsurance Company of the Year- Swiss Re
Insurance Leader of the Year- Terry Towell
ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award- Ian Brown, Jim Minto, John Richardson, Lach McKeough

2013 is the 10th year of the Australian Insurance Industry Awards, and the award ceremony was hosted by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) and founding partner Asia Insurance Review (AIR). Sponsors of the 2013 Australian Industry Awards included Lloyd’s, Marsh, Aon, Vero, QBE, Allianz, Finity and UAC.

Mr Sivam Subramanian, Editor-in-Chief of AIR, applauded the 2013 winners, saying that the Awards are a great example of the industry’s commitment to excellence.

“With a decade of celebrating excellence in the Australian insurance community, the Awards are a key opportunity for the best and brightest to be recognised for their achievements, but for the broader professional community a chance to celebrate the triumphs of the industry as a whole. I would like to congratulate the winners, as well as the strong field of contenders, and of course the members of the Judging Panel for their unwavering dedication in the selection process,” he said.

Marking her final Awards as Institute CEO, Ms Joan Fitzpatrick looked back on the decade past, and congratulated not just the winners, but the industry as a whole for the hard work and dedication. “When I reflect on the experience of the past 10 years and everything that we have endured together as a nation, an industry, and a profession, I feel privileged to be part of this industry, one that does so much good and always strives for better.”

“This is, and has been from the beginning, a night where we celebrate our achievements together, not as individuals or companies but as an industry, and we have shown over the last 10 years that it is something we all value very much,” she said.

Each award category is reviewed by a distinguished panel of 16 Australian and international judges to determine the winners, and is independently audited by Ernst & Young to ensure proceedings are conducted with the greatest integrity.